Colour Theories: Purple

We are a pattern-seeking species, and this is never more evident than in the career of any long-term established artist. From signature brush-strokes to colour meanings and even position and juxtaposition of objects, patterns are evident within any body of work. Evolution from disjointed works of art to art with purpose, evolution and a timeline doesn’t happen overnight, but sometimes it does seem to happen by accident. Look at Van Gogh’s early works, thickly pasted potato peel and dripping in mud-hues, or Marc or Monet’s early experiments with muted hues and brush strokes.

We all have our comfort zone, our comfort colours, even if we don’t necessarily have our feet on the ground artistically.

Purple is a colour that was once prized for its rarity, instability and its costliness. The colour purple is not overly feminine or masculine, and it doesn’t come into my daily life at all. I don’t own any piece of purple furniture, fabric, home decor, pottery or flowers. Yet it seems to be becoming the dominant colour in my watercolours.

DSCF6268

This colour has the ability to hold a painting together; it transforms something black into something solid, alive and that interacts with its environment. It can be used for hard and soft equally well. When used with complementary colours it transforms into depth, shadow, and light.

To find out more about commissioning a painting or to enquire about specific paintings for sale send me a message through my Facebook Page or take a look through at my website: cjwaterfieldart.com

2 thoughts on “Colour Theories: Purple

  1. I love purple too! For all the reasons you so eloquently name! I’ve noticed that this year I’m all up in orange/brown, blue/black, and white/pastels. No green. So strange for me since green is one of my favorite colors. Maybe now that I’ve noticed it, I’ll start bringing back the green for 2016. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love those combinations you mentioned; in fact my next painting series is going to be working in white and pastels; an area I’m keen to build on. I look forward to seeing your greeny goodness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

