Sketchbook Explorations – The Arctic & Antarctic

With the temperature hitting 38 degrees plus, is it any wonder I crave snow?

I’ve always been fascinated and enamoured by the polar regions of our world; something about the glimmering ice, the constant change, and of course, the penguins. Now I’m working on some new paintings and watercolours focusing on these beautiful wildernesses. I’ve already begun a few watercolours which will hopefully be sketches for canvas paintings. I want to explore the dynamism of the ice, the shifting landscape, and the lives of the Arctic and Antarctic animals that are intimately bound to it.

DSCF5986
Whalers Church, Watercolours, 2015
11703373_881067611960168_1147363567276543396_n
Polynya, Watercolours, 2015
11828645_885987984801464_1409338270310852543_n
Ursus Maritimus, Watercolours, 2015

Then I’ll be producing some more abstract paintings, exploring the features and different states of ice, and the animals that call it home. I’m looking forward to immersing myself in this theme whilst hopefully pushing my painting boundaries to discover new techniques and frames of mind along the way.

To find out more about commissioning a painting or to enquire about specific paintings for sale send me a message through my Facebook Page or take a look at my website: cjwaterfieldart.com

 

Leave a Reply

